Jayne Wallace

I had a lovely group discussion about my work so far with Jayne Wallace a few weeks ago. Really enjoyed telling her about my work and she gave me some helpful advice and tips of what to do next. Jayne gave me lots of praise about my concept of the project and liked the personal connection and how well I’ve researched my home. One tip I took forward was to coat the rope I made in resin so when I delft cast it the detail will become more prominent on the mould when casted. This technique was amazing and worked very well.
Jayne Wallace is a researcher and contemporary digital jewellery designer. Her work involves designing meaningful pieces of jewellery or artefacts that has a personal touch to peoples lives. Jayne’s doctoral research was
“to focus on the creation of digital artefacts that invoke the human-relational richness of jewellery to resist our expectations of the digital and to offer fresh aesthetics and potentialities”
jayne wallace

Jayne’s work above is a project she did for an older woman who was clearing our her wardrobe and found dresses from her youth that she couldn’t wear anymore. Jayne took the fabric and cut out circles and also laser cut a dress out line. The two pieces of wood could be separated and the fabric can be held on with the wooden pieces. Jayne cut out numerous pieces of fabric so the woman could change it everyday to suit what she was wearing. This way the elderly woman could wear her old dresses but in a contemporary way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment